Panel Discussion – 2

How to assess and improve quality of medical research?

Dr. H. S. Chhabra
Dr. H. S. Chhabra is the Medical Director at Indian Spinal Injuries Centre. He is the President of Spinal Cord Society and Delhi Spine Society, Chairman of Spine Wellness and Care Foundation, Immediate Past President of International Spinal Cord Society (ISCoS) and Association of Spine Surgeons of India, Vice-President of Association of National Board Accredited Institutions. Dr Chhabra has over 150 publications and 25 papers & full-length chapters to his credit besides being the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Clinical Orthopaedics and Trauma and reviewer of leading journals/ textbooks around the globe. He has been a recipient of some of the major prestigious awards such as Asian Spinal Cord Network (ASCoN) Star award, India News National Health Award, and Association of Spine Surgeons of India research awards for 8 years in succession.

Professor Vivekanand Jha
Professor Vivekanand Jha is the Executive Director of the George Institute for Global Health as the Executive Director of the India office, Professor of Nephrology and Chair of Global Kidney Health at Imperial, College, London. He is the Past-President of the International Society of Nephrology, and currently busy in setting up a country-wide network of nephrologists to design and implement clinical studies. He is an elected Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (London, Edinburgh).

Prof. H.P.S. Sachdev
Dr. H.P.S. Sachdev, a former Professor of Pediatrics at the Maulana Azad Medical College, is currently a Senior Consultant in Pediatrics and Clinical Epidemiology at Sitaram Bhartia Institute of Science and Research, New Delhi; Adjunct Professor, St. John's Research Institute, Bangalore; and Honorary Senior Research Fellow, University College of London Institute for Global Health. He has been National President of the Indian Academy of Pediatrics. Prof. Sachdev was Editor-in-Chief of Indian Pediatrics for seven years and is currently Editor of International Journal of Epidemiology and Cochrane Development and Psychosocial Group. He has 375 indexed publications (H-index 65; i10-index 191) and has edited 16 books and 39 reports.

Dr. Rajaraman Swaminathan
Dr. Swaminathan is Professor and Head, Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Cancer Registry, Cancer Institute (WIA), Chennai. He was an Editor of IARC Sci. Pub. 162 on Cancer Survival in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Central America and IARC Sci. Pub. 164 on Cancer incidence in five continents, Vol X. He has a large number of publications and has an h-index of 36.

Dr. Deepak Tempe
Dr. Deepak K Tempe was the Chief Editor of Annals of Cardiac Anaesthesia 2002-7 and on the editorial & reviewer board of many prominent journals. He is the recipient of the Dr B.C. Roy National Award as an Eminent Medical Teacher, Professor of Excellence and Dean, Maulana Azad Medical College and Director-Professor and Head, Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care, G.B. Pant Hospital, New Delhi. He is presently Visiting Professor, Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences, New Delhi.

Dr. Satyanarayana Labani
Dr. Satyanarayana Labani is a Visiting Professor at Sri Satya Sai University, Andhra Pradesh, and Vice-President of the Biostatistics Consortium. Dr Satyanarayana is the former Director Grade Scientist and Head of Epidemiology & Biostatistics at National Institute of Cancer Prevention and Research (ICMR). He has published 150 research papers and has been a Course Director for training in Biostatistics and Research Methodology. He was Principal Investigator and Co-Investigator of clinical and community-based cancer prevention projects. He has been an advisor, editorial member, and reviewer to many journals.